20 local government areas, including the region’s small businesses and not-for-profit organisations, will have access to low interest disaster assistance and essential working capital loans of up to $100,000.

The assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Federal-State Government Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA),  following the latest round of devastating floods which have inundated  southern Queensland yet again. 

Federal Minister for Emergency Management, Senator the Hon Murray Watt, said major flooding from several local catchments during the extreme  weather event resulted in widespread road closures and damage from Balonne to the Gold Coast.

“Balonne Shire Council and City of Gold Coast Council can now be reimbursed through the DRFA for their clean-up and reconstruction costs,” Cr Watt said.

“In addition, impacted small businesses in Balonne, Moreton Bay, and Toowoomba, as well as impacted not-for-profit organisations in Balonne, Gympie, Lockyer Valley, Moreton Bay, Somerset, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and the Western Downs, can now access low-interest loans up to $100,000.”

Cr Watt said that the announcement is in addition to the DRFA assistance measures already in place to help the community get back on its feet. 

Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services, Mark Ryan, said concessional loans of up to $100,000 would act as a lifeline to these hardworking small businesses and not-for-profit organisations on their road to recovery.

“Some small businesses and not-for-profit organisations in these regions are dealing with their second or even third successive flooding event this year,” Cr Ryan said.

I am pleased to reassure those affected that they will have help on their recovery journey from this flooding, including access to essential working capital loans and disaster assistance loans of up to $100,000 to make sure essential operations can continue,” Cr Ryan said.

“The Australian and Queensland governments are continuing to work together to support ongoing recovery efforts throughout southern Queensland, to ensure all communities hit by the floods in May 2022 have the best support available at this difficult time.”

This extension of the DRFA brings the total number of local government areas receiving disaster assistance to 20. These LGAs are:

  • Balonne
  • Brisbane
  • Bundaberg
  • Fraser Coast
  • Gold Coast
  • Gladstone
  • Gympie
  • Ipswich
  • Livingstone
  • Lockyer Valley
  • Logan
  • Moreton Bay
  • North Burnett
  • Rockhampton
  • Scenic Rim
  • Somerset
  • South Burnett
  • Southern Downs
  • Toowoomba
  • Western Downs.

For more information on assistance available to small businesses and not-for-profit organisations visit www.qrida.qld.gov.au or free call 1800 623 946.


Leave a reply

©2024 Council. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?