The new President of Local Government New South Wales (LGNSW) has been elected, after a postal vote by LGNSW members.

Broken Hill City Council’s Darriea Turley will step into the role, heading up eight other returning Board members and nine who replaced outgoing members of the former Board headed by City of Sydney’s Cr Linda Scott.

“I’m looking forward to chairing a great Board and working collaboratively with my fellow directors to achieve real and meaningful outcomes for New South Wales councils and the communities they serve,” Cr Turley said.

“We have an excellent balance between solid experience and fresh insights, and I know each and every Board Director will be solidly focused on supporting councils right across the state.

“Councils have been working hard to help drive a locally-led recovery from the economic impacts of drought, bushfires, floods and the Covid-19 pandemic and with the delayed 4 December local government elections now over, this work will again pick up its pace.

“It is one of my key priorities as LGNSW President, and I’ll be working with partners including the Country Mayors Association of NSW, our Joint Organisation Chairs Forum, and the City Regional Organisation of Councils.”

Cr Turley said other priorities during her term as President included:

  • A new, stronger Intergovernmental Agreement with the State Government, to ensure both tiers of government worked together as equal partners for the benefit of New South Wales communities
  • Collaboration with the Australian Local Government Association in advocating for constitutional recognition of local government and to address the Financial Assistance Grants shortfall
  • An annual rural/regional summit focused on overcoming the unique challenges faced by rural and regional councils
  • Building a strong, transparent and accountable peak body for councils, focused on delivering real member value by driving positive outcomes for communities

The Australian Electoral Commission also declared the election of Cr Jerome Laxale (City of Ryde) as Treasurer, Cr Khal Asfour (City of Canterbury-Bankstown) as Metropolitan/Urban Vice-President, and Cr Scott Ferguson (Blayney Shire) as Rural/Regional Vice-President.

Rural/Regional Board Directors declared elected were Cr Jamie Chaffey (Gunnedah Shire), Cr Romola Hollywood (Blue Mountains City), Cr Dominic King (Bellingen Shire), Cr Phyllis Miller (Forbes Shire), Cr Danielle Mulholland (Kyogle), Cr Nuatalie Nelmes (City of Newcastle), and Cr Cameron Walters (Wollongong City).

Metropolitan/Urban Board Directors declared elected were Cr Michael Forshaw (Sutherland Shire), Cr George Greiss (City of Campbelltown), Cr Julie Griffith (City of Blacktown), Cr Nathan Hagarty (City of Liverpool), Cr Karen McKeown (City of Penrith), Cr Carmelo Pesce (Sutherland Shire), and Cr Philipa Veitch (City of Randwick).

The newly constituted LGNSW Board will meet for the first time in early 2022.


Leave a reply

©2024 Council. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?