award ceremony

The Local Government Week Awards 2022, held 4 August, have celebrated the achievements of New South Wales councils across a range of categories, such as arts and culture, events, communications and planning. 

Woollahra Municipal Council was the big winner at the awards night,  taking home three awards including two Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards and a LGNSW Planning Award. 

Two of the awards were for the Woollahra Aboriginal Heritage Study, which provided the council with a much better understanding of the Aboriginal history and heritage of Woollahra.

Gilgandra Shire Council also won multiple awards including a RH Dougherty Award for excellence in communication and a Department of Communities and Justice New South Wales Youth Week Award.

Murray River Council received two RH Dougherty Awards as well for innovation in special events and reporting to its community.

In addition, Fairfield City Council also had a winning night, receiving a RH Dougherty award for excellence in communication and a New South Wales Youth Week Award.

Local Government New South Wales President, Darriea Turley, congratulated all the award recipients and nominees.

“As the peak body for local government in New South Wales, we are so proud to showcase the wonderful work our New South Wales councils are doing right across the state for the benefit of their communities,” Cr Turley said.

“These awards – as well as Local Government Week – have once again demonstrated how councils have gone above and beyond in what has been another particularly challenging year for many.

“Whether it be rural, regional or metropolitan areas, it is local government that is on the ground and manning the frontlines to keep the heart of their communities beating.”

Other winners included Forbes, Blacktown and Maitland councils, who all took out Leo Kelly OAM Arts and Culture Awards.

Canterbury Bankstown, Goulburn Mulwaree, Hawkesbury, and Parramatta councils received RH Dougherty Awards, while Coonamble and Penrith won Planning Awards.

Inner West and Yass Valley councils also received New South Wales Youth Week Awards.

A full list of award recipients can be viewed here.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

©2024 Council. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?