The Mayor of Ipswich, Teresa Harding, has identified the Springfield Central Public Transport Corridor as a priority at a two-day council delegation with the Prime Minister and other senior members of Parliament. 

The virtual Council of Mayors South East Queensland (SEQ) delegation focused on priority projects for investment, ahead of a looming federal election.

“The two-day delegation presented an opportunity to outline Ipswich’s priority projects to both the government and opposition,” Mayor Harding said.

“Federal support is critical to ensure connectivity in nationally significant growth and freight corridors, with the Ipswich to Springfield Central Public Transport Corridor being one of those.

“This 25km corridor is integral to addressing a lack of public transport in Ipswich’s booming suburbs, such as Redbank Plains and Ripley, and will service 70 per cent of Ipswich’s expected population growth.”

In addition to the Ipswich to Springfield Central Public Transport Corridor, Ipswich’s priority projects for included:

  • The Ipswich Central Second River Crossing (Norman St Bridge)
  • Waste and Circular Economy Transformation
  • The Ebenezer Regional Industrial Area
  • The North Ipswich Sport and Entertainment Precinct
  • A range of Critical and Enabling Infrastructure including the planning and delivery of upgrades across the Cunningham, Warrego and Centenary Highways

The delegation of mayors ensured Queensland’s south-east remained a top priority for both major parties ahead of the upcoming election.

“The recurring themes for both sides of politics were around infrastructure, population growth, waste management, the SEQ City Deal and 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games,” Mayor Harding said.

“Council is advocating for more funding and collaborative outcomes for Ipswich, and getting the opportunity to take our message directly to Canberra will be crucial in coming months.

“Ipswich’s current and future residents need and deserve support from all three levels of government to provide the transport, social, and economic infrastructure that will help to preserve and grow our opportunities.

“All levels of government must work together to deliver a bright future for Ipswich.”

The Council of Mayors SEQ met with government and opposition representatives including:

  • Scott Morrison, Prime Minister of Australia and Minister for Public Service
  • Paul Fletcher, Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts
  • Scott Buchholz, Assistant Minister for Road Safety and Freight Transport, Member for Wright
  • Kevin Hogan, Assistant Minister for Local Government
  • Trevor Evans, Assistant Minister for Waste Reduction
  • Catherine King, Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Development
  • Chris Bowen, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy
  • Jason Clare, Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Regional Services, Territories and Local Government
  • Terri Butler, Shadow Minister for Environment and Water, and Josh Wilson, Shadow Assistant Minister for the Environment
  • Jim Chalmers, Shadow Treasurer
  • Andrew Giles, Shadow Minister for Cities and Urban Infrastructure; Shadow Minister Assisting for Immigration and Citizenship, Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs
  • Ted O’Brien, PM Special Envoy for Olympics

The Council of Mayors SEQ represents the eleven councils and more than three million residents of South East Queensland. Its membership includes Brisbane, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Moreton Bay, Noosa, Redland, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba councils.


Leave a reply

©2024 Council. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?